calisunrise

 

So many times in life I feel like we often forget to appreciate the little things. Back home in Georgia, the roads are covered in ice and snow. Many people were stuck for 10+ hours just to get home and some people were even stuck overnight in their cars without heat, food, or water. Even worse, there were people homeless left to freeze in the storms. I woke up to 60 degree weather, in my bed, to a sunrise that was probably one of the most beautiful ones I’ve seen yet out here in SoCal. And then I realized….not everyone gets to wake up to this view….

I know life is busy. And hectic. And it’s not always easy or fair, but at the end of the day, you get to go home to a bed, food, water….some people don’t have that luxury. Even when I complain about going home alone, at least I’m going home. I’ve always wondered why humans feel the need to envy others and take things for granted. Why can’t we just appreciate what has been given to us? Everyone has a story, a background, a past….nobody in this life has had it easy. Some of us have had it easier than others, yes, but that doesn’t mean that their life has been all roses and butterflies.

My point is that every now and again it’s okay to stop and appreciate the small things in life – like the sunrise, your bed, or a glass of water. The things that you take for granted everyday are the things that someone else is wishing they had.

Leave a Reply

