Human Development at 7:39 A.M.

People who read my blog (the solid 5 people who do haha) always ask me where I come up with the thoughts and ideas I write about. To be honest, I don’t know. My mind runs 100 miles an hour day-in and day-out. There’s like a 2 hour span during the day where my mind ISN’T occupied with my thoughts (when I’m at the gym and when I first wake up). I tend to find my deepest thoughts in that hour and half commute to and from work, especially in the early morning.

While driving to work this morning, I was chatting with my best friend back in Georgia. She and I were discussing having your shit together (obviously one of my favorite topics) and figuring out who we are. This strange theory crossed my mind – what if we never really know who we are? 

I’m 26. So obviously I’m not supposed to know who I am completely. But what if we spend our whole lives chasing this idea of figuring out who we are when in fact, we are individuals who are constantly changing, constantly growing, and constantly evolving? What if we never become one particular way? Sure, we have specific characteristics and traits that can’t necessarily be changed, but what if we never really become one particular brand of a person? 

Since I’m studying Psych (and completely obsessed with it), it fascinates me that human development never stops. I’m sure most people assume it stops in your 30’s because society expects you to be married with kids living in the suburbs and working a corporate job. However, it’s proven fact that human development continues well on into our 60’s and 70’s. We never stop developing. Doesn’t it only make sense that we never really know who we are? If we are constantly developing, even when we’re full of wrinkles and a great-great grandmother, how we are ever one specific person? 

Just some food for thought, kiddos.

Until later – XOXO

-D

One comment

  1. wsewell525 · April 20, 2015

    I love human development. I love the fact that you can always get better, or learn more. The mind itself expands further than people give it credit for. But there’s got to be a level of devotion. That’s where the truly great separate themselves. You can dibble into topics, and expand your tunnel vision (I’m not saying you, but people in general). But that doesn’t mean you should only consider one subject. Leonardo DE had a note book for all kinds of things. He wasn’t just a painter. So you never have to settle for a label. Take your thirst of knowledge and just keep going with it.

Leave a Reply

